Home > Fun Stuff, Shellie Lewis' Art, Uncategorized > Revisiting the Painted Wax Paper Technique

Revisiting the Painted Wax Paper Technique

hockey-players-2015-web

WP-White-Bar-550x10

I previously wrote instructions on how to paint on wax paper which is a sort of like faking reverse glass painting. I repeated the prior project on wood scraps (above) and the results were much better because I put in a detailed background and used a new media. The outlines in the original version  were Sharpie marker, which I now avoid because the ink is unstable. A fine black Molotow acrylic paint pen was used in the new art above, and it worked very well!

I compared the Molotow acrylic paint pen to the Liquitex brand. The flow of the paint was better and the nib more precise on the Molotow brand. If any lines were too thin or not solid enough, I let the paint dry and redrew the section of line that I needed to repair. Wax paper gets soft when wet and can wrinkle then tear if it gets too wet, so it helps to work with very dry paint. This time I also skipped the step of crumpling the wax paper for a more aged look. Wrinkles occur naturally but I did not add to them and make the art look more distressed in either piece shown here.

The artwork below I placed the wax paper painting over a collage for added depth. A process I have yet to try would be to do multiple layers of painted wax paper, maybe even with collage elements between the layers in addition to the paint. The trapeze artist mixed media art started as a collage on particle board (recycled food packaging box like, a cereal box). I did have to press the dry artwork for a few days to flatten it nicely. Since Modge Podge or  other decoupage glue is very wet, the substrate you work one has to be very solid and not warp if it gets wet.

WP-White-Bar-550x10

Trapeze-by-Shellie-Lewis-April-2015-web

  1. KIT
    April 19, 2016 at 6:15 pm

    OMgosh, its gorgeous!

    • April 19, 2016 at 7:13 pm

      Thank you! I gave it to my hockey coach for Hanukkah. 🙂

  2. June 29, 2016 at 9:11 pm

    I love the effect of the wax paper; Really brings out the winter season. Lovely work.

    • July 19, 2016 at 1:39 am

      Thank you! I have also seen examples of reverse glass painting technique used with Mylar and other clearer plastics that were cool.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

