Home > Chicago, Photography, Shellie Lewis' Art, Uncategorized > Two photos of the sky

Two photos of the sky

 

sunburst photo 2015WP-White-Bar-550x10

WP-White-Bar-550x10

Definitely, if you have limited time to be creative, I think photography is the fastest media to create with; especially for people who have high end cameras in their pocket with high end smartphones. I envy the high end smartphones since they can do so much a computer can and the image quality of the cameras just keep getting better. I saw a gentleman just the other day notice a reflected light off a car and pull out his phone to capture it.

I trucked around a DSLR for these two shots. The daytime sky is recent, I ran home for the camera after walking the dogs. I was after a mint green color cicada on a tree, but he dissed me and flew away. You can never rely on wild creatures to stay put.

WP-White-Bar-550x10

full moon 2014

WP-White-Bar-550x10

This nighttime shot makes me laugh a little because the only photography professor I even had told my class he would fail anyone handing in pictures of the moon or their pets. The man had apparently had enough of both of those subjects. I saw this as a photograph the second I got off the train and walked past it. I would make an argument about the light off the rails of the tracks being the emphasis, the moon is incidental.

This shot was also little hard to get because the airline routes changed the past year and now planes go directly overhead on route to O’Hare International Airport, Chicago. Many good shots were less interesting to me because there could be as many as three and four planes in the shot. I had to wait for the planes to fly away. Also, I had to wait for a guy with a DSLR to get his shots and clear out, because he saw the same thing I did and he beat me to the tracks.

 

  1. October 26, 2015 at 10:15 pm

    shellie, good work, clear and vivid sky,i’m a sky watcher too, but the night shot on the tracks is best, love the atmosphere, i have the hawks vs ducks on right now, go hawks!

  2. October 26, 2015 at 10:25 pm

    shellie, good work,clear&vivid sky, but the night shot on the tracks is best, great atmosphere. have the hawks vs. ducks game on now, go hawks! see u at iuoma.

  3. February 28, 2016 at 6:32 am

    I love a blue sky with puffy white clouds in it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

