Home > Recycled, Shellie Lewis' Art > Recycled Art: Mosaic Art Bowl

Recycled Art: Mosaic Art Bowl

mosaic-art-bowl-finished-shellie-lewis

WP-White-Bar-550x10

Do you have an old wooden salad bowl? I was given one but I also see wooden bowls crop up a lot at thrift shops and yard sales. Get one if you want to recycle it into a mosaic art bowl. This is a fun, easy project to make an old wooden bowl into something much nicer.

The materials are very simple:

  • Spraypaint
  • Sandpaper
  • Glue (white craft PVA, hot glue, E6000)
  • Buttons or other material to mosaic (pebbles, mirror pieces, glass, tile, etc.)
  • Grout
  • Acrylic paint to tint the grout if you want a different shade
  • Plastic bag, gloves, sponge, paper towels or rag

WP-White-Bar-550x10

Spray painted reverse / exterior of the bowl.

Spray painted reverse / exterior of the bowl.

WP-White-Bar-550x10

Here are the steps I used:

  1. Sand it: I used a medium grit sandpaper to rough up the gloss finish on the wooden bowl. Any kind of sandpaper you have is useful, just note if the sanding is making groves in the wood and whether you like that or want a smoother surface. Finer grit sandpapers give a smoother surface.
  2. Paint it: I taped off the opening of the bowl, flipped it over and used a Krylon Hand Hammered special effects spray paint in bronze. Any brand-name, high adhesion spray paint is good. I buy Krylon the most; cheap spray paint has terrible adhesion and less color saturation. Painting in two or three thin layers and letting each layer dry between coats is better than bombing the bowl in one session and getting runs in the spray paint. I spray paint the reverse / exterior this stage in order to not get any paint on the grout or mosaic pieces that make the artwork.
  3. Mosaic it: This is the fun part: glue your mosaic pieces on the bowl. In my case, I had a lot of buttons available. I used E6000 epoxy since the buttons were slippery plastic and let it dry overnight for the glue to cure. Also, be careful to not get glue on your painted surface: the glue may tear off or stain the paint. Make sure to leave space between your mosaic pieces for the grout to fill in gaps.
  4. Grout it: I taped the top edge of the bowl with some masking tape to get a neat circle, so the top edge would be smooth and I would not have to wipe away a lot of grout to make it neat. Grout is easy to use. Have a friend help you with this step and/or check out some online videos if you are unsure of how to handle grout and are nervous about not having previous experience. It helps to have hands-on experience to get the swing of how wet to mix a batch. I add as little water as possible, aiming for a thick consistency, like what would work for making a sand castle. I mixed my grout in a plastic bag since I only needed a small amount. Plastic or rubber gloves are very helpful since grout is very sticky. I just mushed the grout together in the plastic bag and added some acrylic paint to make my light beige grout a nice brown shade. Wearing gloves, I spread the grout over the entire interior of the bowl, getting between all the gaps so it is level with the mosaic pieces. Let it dry a bit, then wipe away the excess grout with a damp sponge. Having an old bucket or cut milk jug for a water container to rinse out the sponge helps. Do not rinse any grout down a sink or other drain; it will clog pipes.

This short minute and a half tile video shows how grout works:

WP-White-Bar-550x10

WP-White-Bar-550x10Now you are ready to sign your mosaic art bowl and ponder who is getting it as a gift for the holidays…

  1. KIT
    September 16, 2015 at 11:00 pm

    Groovy idea! YOuve got my minds eye thinking. lol

  2. KIT
    September 17, 2015 at 12:28 am

    I luv this idea! Those ugly, outdated bowls are everywhere. I’ll be looking for something other that buttons maybe. Hmmm, I wonder what tho.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

