Home > Artist Tips, Painting > How to Use Landscape Composition Formulas

How to Use Landscape Composition Formulas

The Artist’s Magazine January/February issue 2015 had an article on landscape composition, but it was these thumbnail sketches that illustrate the concepts which I found to be the most helpful. Reading through a lot of descriptive language is a lot slower for me to do than just seeing an illustration of the concepts. Landscape painting is not really my thing but I have attempted a few canvases. I learned from the article that landscapes can be composites made of elements pulled together rather than a recording of what one may see if they were standing at a particular place in person.

The 14th sketch is really just a viewfinder made of four strings attached to the opening of a mat. It is more of a composition tool than than a composition formula. Maybe there was an editorial push by the magazine for the author of the article to come up with an even number of formulas.

Landscape comps 01

Landscape comps 02

Categories: Artist Tips, Painting
  1. KIT
    August 16, 2015 at 6:17 pm

    OK I could just fall over laughing…..I read the title and thought “Oh yes, perfect timing, Im needing to landscape my yard and sure could use the help”. lol You say POHtato and I say PAtato. lol YOu know the limerick. Once I opened the formulas I see that I found the formulas more interesting than painting itself. Go figure. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

