Home > Digital Design, Fun Stuff, Mail Art, Shellie Lewis' Art > Basic Hand Drawn Animation

Basic Hand Drawn Animation

WIYM-Mailbox-Animation-Shellie-Lewis-2014

 

400 x 400 pixels

Here is the finished little “What’s in your mailbox?” animated GIF someone requested for a mail art group. It’s cute and it was fun to make. Too bad the GIF format pixelates color gradients. The animation looks better in the program because the glowing light and clouds are smooth. I have no idea why there is not an animated JPG format; only a programmer could explain why.

I put a lot of time into the second round of this little seven second animation. I forgot to save the original Photoshop file where I matched and laid out the layers of the rough pencil sketches. I just did a screen capture of the GIF I put online, dropped each screen capture as a layer for the new Photoshop file and up-sampled the roughs to 144 dpi.

I was going batty from slamming layers in Photoshop all day. Sal, my Hockey Blogger Boyfriend, insisted I find the Beavis and Butthead “Animation Sucks” episode, which further proves that Mike Judge is both brilliant and hilarious in describing reality. Animation is pretty exhausting. It helps to try and not do it all at once. You really need to take breaks when working on an animation project. It also helps to remind yourself that the professional grade work is done by huge teams of people using better software and hardware!

Mailbox-animation_250W_Shellie-Lewis

Small 250 x 250 pixels

  1. A. Catherine Noon
    April 12, 2014 at 5:32 pm

    That’s pretty fricken awesome, Miss Shell. Pretty fricken awesome indeed. 🙂

    • April 12, 2014 at 5:38 pm

      It’s pretty janky, but online social media will play with it! ^.^’ I just made a smaller 250 pixel wide one to fit on swapper profiles.

      • A. Catherine Noon
        April 12, 2014 at 5:46 pm

        So, I’m getting curious. How does one get started in this author trading card thing? Take me, for instance. I’m a calligrapher. Would I just make some calligraphy art and look for people to whom to send it? How does this work?

      • April 12, 2014 at 5:56 pm

        I recommend ATCsForAll.com as a good site for artist trading cards. ☺ You make them and put them up on a free profile, ask each other to trade and rate +1 when your trade comes in the mail. If the mail loses or destroys anything, etiquette is to make a replacement. I can give you some advice on materials. Work on paper 2.5 x 3.5 and paste onto a sturdy core (like a cut cereal box) with rubber cement works well. I paper and sign the reverse so it looks nice. I will do a ‘best practices’ blog post soon.

  2. Lora Ann Roberts
    April 14, 2014 at 5:23 am

    Very cute! Love it!

    • April 14, 2014 at 9:46 am

      Thank you! I am going to try another one soon.

  3. June 27, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    Nice work Shellie!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

