Home > Digital Design, Mail Art, Shellie Lewis' Art > Roughs for an animation in progress…

Roughs for an animation in progress…

Rough-mailbox-animation-01

 

I have been fascinated with animated GIFs lately. The ones I have made thus far have been photography based. Animated GIFs are a nice, compact way to show many images in one section of a webpage, like when I mushed over 100 of my artist trading cards into one GIF. Then I made pages of a zine I drew into a GIF. It was only a matter of time before I tried to make a hand drawn animated GIF. My mail art and swapping friend Lou wants some kind of nice graphic for a mail art trading group. I was thinking about a cute country mail box done as a digital cartoon.

This is the (very) rough animation so far. I have puffy clouds, grass and daisies to work in with the animation. My main idea is to have a country mailbox that opens up to reveal many envelopes and sparkles. It’s just a little 400 px square 144 dpi graphic. I am not going for a lot of detail, just something more interesting than a static image. I should able to make the door open more smoothly with the rotate tool in Photoshop and adding more layers for more frames. This is one of those unpaid type jobs that I am playing with for fun. I think if I do not use any black outlines -or just minimize black outlines- and use a lot of digital painting style it will look interesting.

  1. KIT
    September 16, 2015 at 10:59 pm

    HOly CrOw lady. Is this your doing, your creation???????? OMgOSH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! bOW Wow wag to the amazing lady who put Knit Bull on the map! Im in awe! x

    • September 17, 2015 at 12:21 pm

      Thank you. It’s really rough. If you try it, aim for 12 – 15 frames per second on the low end.

  1. April 12, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Leave a Reply

