Home > Recycled > Broken Hockey Stick Keyholder

Broken Hockey Stick Keyholder

broken-hockey-stick

A broken hockey stick sucks, but I learned from Anthony Regole that things made out of broken hockey sticks don’t have to suck. I made a quickie project creating a key holder out of this broken stick.

Everything was salvaged and free, except for the epoxy. Fiberglas composite sticks don’t take to screws very well, and tend to splinter; I was too lazy to pre-drill holes and try to sink screws, so I glued the h-e-c-k out of this with E6000. The scrap plywood was laser etched and the backing is glued on sheet of thin blue rubbery craft foam. I hammered in a sawtooth picture hanger and called it finished.

I hope the guy on my boyfriend’s beer league team likes his new $100 keyholder. Outer Glow in Photoshop can only do so much. I will know was well received if anyone else busts their stick and heads to me instead of the trash can.

See Anthony Regole’s website.

 

Categories: Recycled
  1. A. Catherine Noon
    February 13, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    Really clever use of materials!

  2. March 16, 2014 at 6:52 pm

    My oldest son played hockey for years. I did his room using 2 of his favorite hockey sticks and made tab curtains! It looked awesome! kmug500 (Swap-Bot)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

