Tile Images for a Series

I did a few series of artist trading cards and wound up grouping them together in one .jpg for display. I like to put my work online but a series is a lot of images to scroll through one by one. Having them separate dos not demonstrate the series as a coherent group very well. I went back to the old art school trick where students put related works together on one slide, usually for PowerPoint. If the professor told you  you could show 12 slides, we figured out that did not necessarily mean 12 works of art, only 12 images with whatever art we wanted put in each one. I usually go with some shade of gray for the background. White and black backgrounds are really stark and done too often. I just drop a layer in Photoshop and bucket tool the whole thing. I went with a bluish-red with the Dia de los Muertos series to make it more interesting. I cheated with that one and just put a red piece of paper behind the cards on the scanner, which is why the art in the other images are a lot straighter.

ATC-Zen-Bugs

ATC Snowy Egret Series

ATC Dia de los Muertos 300

  1. A. Catherine Noon
    October 29, 2013 at 6:16 am

    Wow, Shellie. These are really cool! I think my favorite are the top set, but I like all of them.

    • October 29, 2013 at 10:57 am

      Zentangle doodling is really easy to get into, go to TanglePatterns.com. You just need a Micron pen, a pencil and some nice paper. ☺

  2. November 29, 2013 at 10:30 am

    Love the birds!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

