Home > Collage, Mail Art, Printmaking > Engraver’s Etchings Collection

Engraver’s Etchings Collection

I lucked into a collection of fifteen small intaglio etchings that I was able to afford.  I believe they were from proof sheets that were on file with a printer, probably a Chicago publishing house, and the sheets were cut apart to be sold by the piece in the antiques shop I purchased them from.  The engraver’s artwork in these pieces is simply wonderful.  They are a delight to hold in the palm of my hand and look at.  I am sharing these with the usual 300 dpi level scans for your use and enjoyment.  Absolutely go to the bottom and see the Neo-Classical post Great Chicago Fire illustration which I have included last.  I take delight in that one as a physical piece of history along with the engraving with a personification of electricity!

Engraving 6

This engraving was stolen from The Horse Fair by Rosa Bonheur (1853).  I think it was worked up from a photograph of the painting.  It may have been made to show the engraver’s skill or maybe he liked the painting to much to resist copying.  Then again, I’m always painting photographs I like, so who am I to criticize?  ☺  I recognized the source it was taken from right away and had to have it.

Engraving 1

Engraving 2

Today, she would be known as the Goddess of Student Loan Debt.

Engraving 3

I am absolutely working these medallions into a digital design for card backs for my artist trading cards.  I was going to keep them all to myself, but then I felt guilty for being so greedy.

Engraving 4

Engraving 5

Engraving 8

Engraving 7

Engraving 9

Sunday in the park, before mugging became popular.  One plate had two tones of color rolled out on it and then the key plate was printed.

Engraving 10

Engraving 11

Engraving 12

Engraving 13

Engraving 14

I’ll spare you a trip to Wikipedia, the GReat Chicago Fire was October 8, 1871.  This etching has to be after a substantial amount of rebuilding.

Categories: Collage, Mail Art, Printmaking
  1. Frances
    February 5, 2013 at 6:38 am

    The prints are just stunning. The collection is one to cherish. Thank you for sharing.

    • February 5, 2013 at 3:31 pm

      You’re welcome. They are all very tiny, the scans are true to size. ☺ The good thing about Chicago is random letterpress, book and paper arts finds like these. The bad thing is that a few thousand other people are in pursuit of the same items!

  2. Stephanie L
    February 7, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    These are awesome! If you’re ok I’d really love to use them in my print on clay tests

    • February 8, 2013 at 12:24 pm

      Oh, send me a photo if you get that done. ☺ I would love to see them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

