Home > Fun Stuff, Shellie Lewis' Art > How to Art Stalk People

How to Art Stalk People

I have been really tired of being indoors, so I decided to be indoors somewhere else!  Someone I came across was cheated out of receiving a hand-drawn postcard for a mail art swap.  I went out for a sandwich and tried to think of something to draw and settled for what was in front of me.  People were coming and going rapidly, so I had to do the best I could with the drawing above.  I went with mechanical pens and waterproof ink since this postcard has to survive being mailed.

The best work for me is when I’m using pencils to sketch and preferably someone that does not wriggle around or move a lot.  I started art stalking in 1994 and have done it sporadically ever since.  You need to order food or at least a drink, settle in behind your order, hug a quiet corner or seat by a wall and try not to look at your target too directly or too often.  It used to be that I had to hope for someone reading or maybe writing, but with everyone dragging around a laptop, there are more opportunities to find stationary humans.  I learned that people messing with smartphones are no help though, they squirm way too much.  You can get a fleeting sketch at best.

Cafe sketch Shellie Lewis

  1. February 1, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    Awesome! I so envy your gift, but appreciate your sharing.

    • February 2, 2013 at 2:17 pm

      Anyone can learn how to draw. You need to train your hand eye coordination. ☺ It’s the same skills you needed to learn how to write. I share some tips here:

      https://shellielewis.wordpress.com/2012/11/12/how-to-get-better-at-drawing/

      • February 4, 2013 at 1:11 pm

        Thanks for the encouragement! My art professor friends always say the same. I’m going to take a basic art class when life slows down a little. For now, I’ll doodle, enjoy the artistic creations of others and covet their skill! 🙂

      • February 4, 2013 at 2:20 pm

        If you have something good with a local park district or community college, that helps. Try on your own, you’ll still learn. ☺

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

