Home > Fun Stuff, Mail Art > Making a Dotee Doll

Making a Dotee Doll

Dotee-Doll-2012-WEB

Dotee dolls are a newer hand-crafting fad.   I dragged out some quilting cotton, beads and ribbon bling, used fabric paint on pieces of a white t-shirt to make faces and hands and a turquoise eyelash yarn for hair to make this mother and child themed Dotee doll as a gift for someone.  From what I gather, the dolls often have round “dot” faces and part of the idea is to incorporate various beads, fibers and fabrics into what is essentially a small doll and a hanging ornament.  They are small and generally fit in the palm of your hand.  These are popular with online art swappers; just as there are artist trading cards as miniature paintings and drawings, these are a sort of artist trading dolls.  You can find many examples of Dotee dolls on Flickr.   Like artist trading cards, they are both a craft and a collectible.

Categories: Fun Stuff, Mail Art
  1. L.
    September 21, 2015 at 8:23 pm

    Im so happy i found this blog! I still have this dotee. thank you so much. It has helped me keep faith and have hope on my journey with my son. I ended up leaving his father (and the dotee being one of the few things I was able to take with me), and went through a tough time but slowly, we are doing better. The baby is 3 now, and he loves the “dolly” as he calls it, just as much as ever. you dont know the impact that your dotee’s imagery had on my life. Again, Thank you. from the bottom of my heart.

    • September 22, 2015 at 12:28 am

      I’m glad you are doing better! I remember you were in a place where transportation, money and even cell phone / internet access were a challenge. I am so happy to know that things are better now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

