Home > Artist Trading Cards, Shellie Lewis' Art > Assemblage Artist Trading Card

Assemblage Artist Trading Card

ARTifact 1 by Shellie Lewis, paper, key and metallic ink, 2.5″ x 3.5″.

I had been experimenting with ways on how to make an assemblage artist trading card without just gluing a dimensional object or objects onto the surface.  I used a thicker board, cut in strips, to make a window surrounding the object.  This worked well.  The board is as thick or thicker than the keys I used and the card has a sleek, level profile rather than being bulky.  I have gotten my share of ATCs with beads, buttons, plastic gems and the like on the surface.  I’m always amazed these do not get crushed in the mail; only one with a plastic flower has been destroyed so far.  The ATCs with objects on them are harder to store because of their lumpy surfaces.  Making a window or frame with board was my solution.

I cut the board on my guillotine paper cutter.  I wish I had a heavier weight paper cutter, like bookbinding grade, since the Xacto brand one I own is plastic  and is pretty shaky to make straight cuts through heavy board.  It tends to twist heavier material in the cutting blade and I have to hold thick board in place firmly with one hand while cutting.  The plastic swing arm bows and sometimes is not very accurate even on cuts for paper.  If you are ever able to buy a high end guillotine cutter, get one with a heavy metal swing arm like this one:

Once my strips were cut, I glued them in place using paper to be the front of the board frame, making it a solid piece sized 2.5″ x 3.5″.  I then cut a “X” in the middle with an Xacto knife in the middle, folding the flaps of paper back over the inside of the window.  A sturdy card-stock colored paper, also cut to 2.5″ x 3.5′” finished off the inside back.  I used a  hot glue gun to tack the keys down into place.

ARTifact 2 by Shellie Lewis, paper, key and metallic ink, 2.5″ x 3.5″.

Now I am on to looking for other small three-dimensional objects to put in windows for future ATCs.  Keys are coming up as a favorite right now but I have some molded shapes and other items to rummage through.

  1. VivaLaDiane
    November 27, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    Great job!! ♥

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

