Home > Collage, Mail Art > Collage Swap

Collage Swap

I have joined some online trades on Swap-bot for more than just artist trading cards.  Later this month, I will be doing a trade for a small 5″ x 7″ custom painting.  I have done trades for inchies and twinchies in addition to ATCs.  I also recently completed a collage art swap.  The only specification for the collage swap was to have it be ready to hang and no smaller than a certain size.

Swap-bot randomizes and assigns trading partners once the trade host activates the trade after the sign up deadline.  I waited until the name of my recipient was released by the system and made this collage for her as a custom art work based on what she listed as liking and disliking in her profile.  In this case, she liked dragonflies and blue-green colors.

Dragonfly Collage by Shellie Lewis, acrylic paints, rubber stamps, Japanese newspaper, Thai Unryu mulberry paper, Chinese buttons, stencils, glitter paints, thread and piece of clam shell, 8″ x 10″ [larger with frame]

I was worried the person who got it would not like it because it was not totally a collage.  It was more of a painting with collage and assemblage.  I did paper and wire the back very nicely since I used to be an art framer.  Thankfully, the person who received it in the mail absolutely loved it!

I got my collage trade in the mail shortly after.  It is a multi-media work on recycled packaging material.  The artist, Christina Griffith, used colored jewelry craft wire and metal clips to hang it by.  The outer dimensions are 8.5″ x 11″ .

I thought the drawing / painting of the girl looked familiar.  I went through my ATC collection and I have something from a prior trade by Christina Griffith.  It is an inchie drawing:

These sort of 1950s mass culture / Pop art /Folk art combination, especially girl drawings, are her unique art style.  The girls do not always have blue hair but the art style is definitely Christina Griffith’s signature style.  I have learned that the mail art community is amazingly diverse and inclusive.  The fun part of ongoing participation in online trade forums is getting to know the other artists more as time goes on and looking forward to building a collection of their work through more trades in the future!

Categories: Collage, Mail Art
  1. Christina Griffith
    November 8, 2012 at 9:26 pm

    I love it thank you so much for blogging my art. I love what i do and i do it with love. Its really nice and totally worth it , when i trade art with other art lovers that i know will appreciate and understand what i do . Im always inspired by other people work and i respect each one. If in the future you would like to trade im open. I have had a lot of people ask to trade with me some people want them for themsleves some people , want to give it as a gift but a trade is the only way they could afford it perhaps. Im very easy going and always open to suggestions. again thank you !

  2. November 8, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    Totally keep in touch! I am so glad to have these pieces by you. ☺

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

