Home > Artist Tips, Uncategorized > Storage Shelf Idea

Storage Shelf Idea

This is an old advertisement from the back of The Artist’s Magazine from July 1994.  It caught my attention because if the shelf dimensions were big enough, it would offer good vertical storage for both storing paper flat and canvases upright.  Paper is really hard to store and it is best kept stored flat.  Unfortunately, there is no room anywhere in my current apartment to put anything like this.  This would be a good design to build off of based on this image.  I’m swamped with canvases and storing paper well -especially printmaking art- is a continuing struggle.  I will definitely keep this design in mind for the future.

Categories: Artist Tips, Uncategorized
  1. Ann Lorraine
    June 3, 2013 at 10:43 am

    Art storage is a BIG problem for artists in Key West- high studio rent, small houses etc. I am turning our bedroom into my art studio so I plan to have a platform for our double bed mattress built 2 to 3 feet high with a skirt to hide the art storage racks under it. Now I am looking for the cheapest – vertical, horizontal, and long tube racks etc to buy or make to store my stuff. Any ideas welcome.
    Ann

    • June 3, 2013 at 2:34 pm

      Ooo, I wish I was in Key West! ☺ Racks are a good build in PVC pipe. You can use plumbing flanges: one end screwed onto to a wall, the other on to a base like a shelf and curve the PVC pipe between the two flanges for upright storage of frames, canvases, silkscreens. Caster wheels on wood boxes or crates might work under the bed; you can roll them out and roll them back. Look at the ALGOT wire shelving and similar units for sale with IKEA.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

