Home > Artist Tips, Uncategorized > Rescue Kachina

Rescue Kachina

Re-posted from September 27, 2011

I was surprised to see a Southwestern Kachina on the lawn of a neighboring home.  I was at a garage sale last weekend, and the sellers had set aside a Hoop Dancer Kachina because it was broken.  These do not show up much in Illinois.  The Kachina got squashed by other items in the box it had been stored in.  The arm was broken off and the nose was missing.  Some decorations on the dancing clothes were missing.  I was buying other items and the sellers gave me the broken Kachina to take home for free.

The arm had a greasy sort of adhesive, which I think was hide glue.  I wiped it away as much as possible and just used hot glue to get the broken arm and a broken hoop back into place.  Then I took some very nice turquoise beads and glued them on to fancy up his dance regalia.  A cone shaped jasper bead replaced the nose, which was break-like cone in the original design, and I painted around it and the inside of the eyes with a fresh layer of black.

This Kachina is twice as large as the ones I already have, as shown in my prior article Ten Strategies For Collecting Art.  It is not signed on the underside of the cedar wood base, and I wonder that it may be an older piece because of this.  I did use my freezer trick to help conserve the feathers on the head-dress.

Categories: Artist Tips, Uncategorized
  1. July 5, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    I love that you found that at a yard sale! You did a great job restoring it. It looks amazing. Do you find a lot of things at yard sales to repurpose into art? That’s one thing I love about yard saling. I don’t know how often you yard sale (I’m probably a little too addicted)… 🙂 P.S. I also LOVE that photo you posted of Howie’s disappointment. So funny!

    • July 5, 2012 at 6:10 pm

      I’m in a city of three million people, the stuff I find in the trash alone is pretty amazing. :/ The richer the ‘hood, the better the curbside goodies.

      https://shellielewis.wordpress.com/2011/08/30/9617374657/

      My neighborhood has a once a year “get it all done at once and over” yard sale. Other than that, yard sales are not a big thing in Chicago. I try to use recycled materials for creative uses but not shop for entertainment. People in the suburbs have the space to be shoppers, though. I’m often amazed at how much STUFF they have. It’s George Carlin’s adage about a house being a place to put your stuff then people want a bigger house because they get more stuff…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

