Home > Chicago, Uncategorized > Amerinkas Native Art & Jewelry in Chicago

Amerinkas Native Art & Jewelry in Chicago

Shout out to shop employee Nadine who recently moved to the city!

I was pleasantly surprised to find a nice little shop and gallery space in downtown Chicago selling authentic work.  Amerinkas Native Art & Jewelry is in the J.R. Thompson Center at 100 W. Randolph Street is a boutique store with a great selection of work and a wide price range of items.  I was dragging myself from place to place to attend to legal errands, like renewing my driver’s license, getting the dogs’ licenses and city sticker for my car.  I was so happy to come across a Pow Wow pocket of goodness on a dreary day of standing in long lines.

There are blankets, dance regalia, Kachinas, traditional crafts, pottery and many other items for sale.  The origins of the works for sale are very clear.  I am particularly happy to see credit given to the individual artists and see the shop steers clear of mass manufacturing.  The shop is well lit and nicely organized.   Extra thanks to Nadine for directing my attention to the work of Artist of the Week Calvin Begay.

You can contact the shop at Amerinkas@hotmail.com or call 312-658-0875.  They are open Monday through Friday from 8 am – 6 pm.

Categories: Chicago, Uncategorized
  1. Christine Simpson
    January 30, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    Chris Simpson
    I noticed that our store is no longer in the Thompson center. Where did you move your store?

    • January 30, 2014 at 4:19 pm

      It’s not my store, I have no idea. I only did a write up when I found them downtown. I did not know they were gone. I’m sure the rent there was really high. 😦

  2. November 13, 2016 at 5:19 pm

    I am inquiring about Amerinkas. We have an Art group with a gallery in Whiting IN who would love to have a native American show. Plenty of space, wall and pedestal. Native flute music. And we would advertise the opening and run. Art and craft welcome. No guarantee on sales but plenty of opportunity.

    • November 20, 2016 at 2:44 pm

      I only wrote that the gallery existed and it seems to have closed its doors some time ago, like more than two years. I do not have any contact information for its former owners. Galleries in Chicago have been collapsing non-stop, a majority of the small galleries (about 80% or more) have gone under from 2008 – 2012 according to my professional practices professor.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

