Home > Artist Tips, Chicago, Rant, Shellie Lewis' Art, Uncategorized > We Thwart Our Vile Post Office

We Thwart Our Vile Post Office

My HBBF figured out how to prevent the local post office from ripping us off.  He dug into the interwebz and created an account to pay for and print USPS postage labels from home.  I can no longer incorrectly be overcharged by the employees of our vile Ravenswood Post Office.  We can pay for shipping, tracking and shipping insurance.  We have a digital scale that is accurate for pounds and ounces; we are sure to round up to the next highest ounce.  Guess what?  The prices for sending small packages has gone down dramatically.  Here’s the breakdown:

Prior package bought in to the Ravenswood Post Office: 5″ x 7″ padded envelope at 1.80 ounces and delivery confirmation = $6.25

Current package with labels printed at home: 12″ x 21″ x 3″ box at 2 pounds 2 ounces, delivery confirmation and $150.00 in shipping insurance = $8.14

What a huge difference!  If I had brought my box in for them to estimate the shipping, I am sure it would have been at least $15.00 to $20.00.  I think that postal employee I dealt with intentionally over charged me.  I talked to some neighbors and they told me this has been going on for years, and I am far from the first person to notice.  Printing labels and paying from home will protect our interests in the future.

The fixed prices online are accurate and there is an added discount for using the online payment and printing labels from home.  You just need to affix the shipping label to you envelope or box and drop it off.  We did that today, and I did notice the employee did not bother to scan any of them in.  I checked an hour later and my package was still not showing as being received.  Maybe I should have insisted she scanned them in upon receipt.  I was just kind of afraid she would find a way to take my package into the back and stomp on it a few times.  I would not put that past the worst of the employees at this post office.  It’s like they will do anything to get out of doing work and go out of their way to be belligerent.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

