Home > Artist Tips, Fun Stuff, Uncategorized > Do Not Put Adhesive on Your Food

Do Not Put Adhesive on Your Food

‘Egg’cited About Easter

RE:  http://2busybrunettes.com/2012/03/10/eggcited-about-easter/#comment-399

This blog post is on the WordPress home page, so I called Plaid Inc. to verify their use of the product on hard-boiled eggs.  The post indicates to use Modge Podge adhesive on empty, blown out egg shells as well as hard-boiled eggs.  I updated the comments section of their blog but it is awaiting moderation:

I spoke with Darlene in customer service at Plaid Inc. 1-800-842-4197 and she advised me the Modge Podge “is a non-toxic product but not recommended to come in contact with food.” She clearly stated that the product should not be used on hard boiled eggs intended to be eaten and putting the adhesive on food was not within the parameters of its intended use.

As I have written before, keep your art supplies away from and separate from your food and the kitchen.  I won’t even wash out a paint brush or wash my hands in the kitchen sink.  I always use the bathroom sink, my only other option since I do not have a utility sink or any other sink.

I repeat, do not eat the glue or put the glue on stuff you eat.  At the time of this writing, 295 bloggers ‘liked’ this post since it went up March 10, 2012 with no one checking into this matter.  I promise you, I got the highest grade possible in my chemistry of art supplies class.  The legal parameters of “non-toxic” cover handling the materials within certain limits, not ingestion.  Decoupage = decorative only!

UPDATE: the bloggers on this blog are cool, and there has definitely been a culture gulf to cross because they are only familiar with Easter eggs as visual decorations whereby I explained I’ve only ever eaten them.

 

  1. July 27, 2012 at 4:42 am

    Glues are used for the purpose of joining the cracks. any one of you can please tell me how to join my heart that crached itno hundreds?

    • July 27, 2012 at 3:14 pm

      I have no idea. I’m a big fan of bitterness and acrimony.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

