Home > Painting, Uncategorized > Basic Information: Color Matching Exercise

Basic Information: Color Matching Exercise

I was digging around in the frightening time capsule that is my high school art portfolio and found this great homework exercise from my painting teacher.  We had to make a collage on a 5″ x 5″ piece of illustration board.  I didn’t want mine to be boring, so I ransacked the classroom stack of old magazines for every cartoon I could find.  I lucked into a magazine page that had yellow polka dots on a navy blue field.  We were then given 10″ x 10″ pieces of illustration board.  The assignment was the re-draw and double the size of our collage on the large board, paint in the colors and make the two match.

This was a great exercise because I was able to keep comparing the two.  I can see more errors now, but I did this in 1990 and was just starting to paint for the first time.  I do recall that the kids that used pictures of stuff like the Grand Canyon or famous actors in their collage wound up stressing on the assignment a little.  I was kicking myself for including the two little boxes of text.

Categories: Painting, Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

