Home > Product Reviews, Uncategorized > Product Review: Derwent Coloursoft Pencils

Product Review: Derwent Coloursoft Pencils

Derwent Coloursoft are wide lead pastel pencils and I have found them to be very enjoyable to work with.  Dry pastels are my least favorite media to work with.  Many varieties come in large, awkward squared or round sticks that I have found hard to make marks with.  I know some people have a gift for pastels and do a level of work with them comparable to any oil painting; I do better with wet media.  Having the Coloursoft pastels in a pencil form with a wooden exterior is easier to grip, and I like having a fine point to work with.

The pastel binder is strong and sticks to paper really well.  You can use the Coloursoft pencils on pretty much any kind of paper and do not need specific pastel paper.  The material blends well and smoothly.  I like just using my fingertips with them.  The material washes off easily even though it adheres well to paper.  Overall, the quality of these pencils is superior.

Sketch by Shellie Lewis, Derwent Coloursoft on an old book page.

  1. January 17, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    Oh, wide lead pastel pencils. Nice!

    • January 19, 2012 at 2:15 pm

      They are the best pastel media I’ve ever used. I have a sampling approach to trying a new art supply; I will buy one or two of something, then try it out. If I like how the media handles, I will buy more or commit to a set of them. I tried a few varieties and the Derwent Coloursoft out-performs the harder, small squared Primacolor NuPastels. Also, the paint exterior is a nice silk texture, so the Derwent pencils are nice to hold.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

