Home > Printmaking, Shellie Lewis' Art, Uncategorized > Homeless Man & Dog Linocut

Homeless Man & Dog Linocut

Homeless Man & Dog by Shellie Lewis, linocut on cotton rag fiber paper, 5″ x 8″, 2011

 

One of the problems that charities, non-profits and social aid organizations have is that people are generous from Thanksgiving to Christmas, and groups helping others tend to be forgotten for the rest of the year.  I was watching interviews in regards to this challenge on local television.  I’m not treally in a position to donate money but I can raise awareness.

I am on a linocut kick recently, since the days are really short and the light is terrible to try and paint by.  I am going to give this work out for free in Chicago as street art through the Art Patch Project.  I have a massive box of beige typing paper from when the father of a friend died.  It’s toothy, watermarked and has a lot of lines from the paper mold, but I like the color.  The ink is burnt sienna brown and oil-based.  I think this linocut may print a little smoother if I think the ink with a small drizzle of burnt-plate oil before rolling it out to print.  I don’t have the money to access a press and have been hand printing them at home with a wooden spoon.

  1. January 7, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    I got one of the prints you left at PS:One! Not sure where I’m going to put it yet, but I like it. A few other people last night took some home, your work is appreciated.

    • January 8, 2012 at 2:30 pm

      I’m going to print a bunch in a series. I’m finding that many people don’t want this print any more than they want the homeless themselves – the art is too sad. Maybe some find it too sad and some respond to the work with empathy. It seems to be getting varied responses but not apathetic ones.

  2. November 2, 2012 at 10:15 am

    Hi, This print was perfect for a blog post I wrote yesterday so I borrowed it. I did place a link to it and to your blog in the body of my blog post. Here is the link to the post http://calangel58.blogspot.com/2012/11/the-purest-kind-of-love.html
    If you would prefer I not use the print, please let me know but I hope you think my story was worthy of it…..alicia

    • November 2, 2012 at 12:44 pm

      Nice post and thank you for the link-back. I had tried in the past to give that linocut away for free and no one would take it. Not one person would take it all the times I offered it. People don’t want the homeless, even on paper. I’m sensitive to the issue because of all the times I have been homeless. Chicago always has a visible homeless population, on top of the invisible.

      Cesar Milan has stated that the dogs of the homeless are often better cared for and more engaged with their owners than many posh suburban pets that have a better material life but are otherwise neglected.

      You might want to read this memoir by someone that grew up through homelessness:

      http://books.google.com/books/about/Learning_Joy_from_Dogs_without_Collars.html?id=3WE2B8Tc7RgC

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

