Home > Artist Tips, Digital Design, Painting, Uncategorized, Video > Artist Tip: Look Before You Leap

Artist Tip: Look Before You Leap

September 20, 2011

I shot video on how to hand string pearls for one of my YouTube videos.  I should have done an internal YouTube search first, because there were already two excellent videos on how to string pearls properly.  Nothing I had recorded improved upon or contributed further to this body of information, so I wound up scrapping the video clips and the project.  At least I looked before I started the actual video edit.  In the future, I’m going to look before I shoot.

I sometimes do this before I commit to a painting.  I sometimes Google image search my idea with the word “painting” to see if anything pops up.  I do not do this a lot, because everything has usually been at least once, and I do not want to be discouraged from the work I intended to make.  I get an idea if the idea I had is out there as a painting, with what frequency, how and if and how other artists handled it.

