Home > Shellie Lewis' Art, Uncategorized > It Probably Removes Plaque As Well…

It Probably Removes Plaque As Well…

August 8, 2011

EFFEN Good by Shellie Lewis; spray paint, beads, label, sequins on canvas, 8” x 10” [20.3 x 25.4 cm]

I couldn’t resist using the silver pearlescent heavy rubber EFFEN vodka label for a small canvas.  Cutting it off the bottle was kind of hard!  I also had trouble getting it glued flat on the canvas.  This piece is done, for better or worse.  I took a photograph of it laying flat on my apartment roof when the light was very diffuse.  I masked off where the label was to be glued on so it adhered directly to the canvas surface.

Maybe I can get EFFEN to sponsor my blog… or at least trade this assemblage piece for vodka.  (Nice idea but not likely.)  The EFFEN website is calling their promotional drink mixing recipe competition the “Art of Design”.  That’s  rather unfair to artists and designers but more glamorous for bartenders. 

