Home > Chicago, Graffiti, Recycled, Uncategorized, Video > Portable Art Gallery

Portable Art Gallery

May 16, 2011

 

WMDT was responsible for two of the sticker graffiti pieces I photographed.  It turns out this stands for “Wild Man Design Tribe” and they have a tumblr.com blog, too.  They had an alternative gallery space at Manifest 2011; it was a re-purposed shipping crate.  They don’t say how they got the crate; it seems to have come from the college.  I did not even realize that it was anything more than a shipping crate getting spray painted -it slid through my urban environment filter as background stuff- until my friend Will took me back there.  I shot a little video and took a closer look at it.

Here are the basic instructions to make your own portable art gallery:

  • Step 1:  Score a shipping crate. You’re on your own with this one.
  • Step 2:  Bust out the cutting torch, because you need some windows for light.  I think these were well placed in the one in the video.
  • Step 3:  Bolt some Plexiglas over the window cutouts, to keep water out.
  • Step 4:  Bust out the spray cans and customize the exterior.
  • Step 5:  Use lots of powerful magnets and hang art in your new portable gallery.

I can’t help you with the electric if you want lights.  You need someone on the Union for that.  

