Home > Chicago, Shellie Lewis' Art, Uncategorized, Video > Snowpocalypse 2011

Snowpocalypse 2011

February 1, 2011


 

Snowpocalypse Wow!

Chicago, February 2, 2011

The blizzard is as bad as promised by the news.  The snow has been coming down all day and turned into a hurricane of snow.  The roads are all a total mess.  This is possibly the worst snowstorm I have seen in my whole life.  Of course, I put my Flip HD Mino in a plastic zipper bag and went out for a few minutes of footage just outside the back and front doors of my apartment building.  The sheer amount of snow blasting down upon us in gusts of wind is amazing.  The microphone of the camera was getting pelted.  My hands were shaking almost instantly; it is freezing outside!  The city is going to grind to a halt through tomorrow.  I’m surprised the trains are still running but the corner restaurant’s sidewalks were being stubbornly shoveled.

Update, 10:11 p.m. – Thundersnow! I’ve wanted to see thundersnow my whole life! Usually only happens in mountains like the Rockies. There have been lightening flashes and thunder and the snow keeps coming down, much more and faster than the video.  The wind is stronger, too!

