Home > Shellie Lewis' Art, Uncategorized > “A Sea Turtle for Henry” by Shellie Lewis

“A Sea Turtle for Henry” by Shellie Lewis

December 9, 2010


“A Sea Turtle for Henry” by Shellie Lewis, acrylics on canvas, 24” x 24”

I know I wrote that  I’m not into navigating random processes as a methodology for painting, yet this rubbing alcohol dispersion technique is fun as hell.  Using this technique does tie into a goal of mine to create works that are original unto themselves and defy accurate photography and thus defy recreation / mass production.  I painted a two tone solid background and did different four layers of the dispersion process on top.  In person, the layers of the background break out into matte, gloss and metallic finishes on top of many variances in the hues where they overlap.  All the subtleties and variations make this awesome.

I had a friend over recently (Hi, Rae Ann!!) and we were sitting on the floor mushing around some paint on paper and chip board (as in “pizza box”) and she thought this technique was a riot too.  She used wildly different colors, pitting Fauvist colors against each other applying this dispersion technique; the painting was really loud.  Mauve ran riot over primary yellows and blues.

I did this painting as inspired from an old Henry Rollins spoken word clip that I saw on YouTube.  I guess if I wanted to, I could go totally whack with making paintings based on YouTube posts and vloggers, I’d never run out of material.  For now I’m happy with creating an homage to an artist I like and a hilarious tale of the awe of nature and being a fish out of water in the ocean.

