Home > Shellie Lewis' Art, Uncategorized > Who’s Afraid of Red, Yellow and Blue?

Who’s Afraid of Red, Yellow and Blue?

October 22, 2010

                                     “Implied By Its Absence” by Shellie  Lewis

Acrylics on canvas, 24” x 24”

There are countless riffs on the traditional artist’s primary colors of red, yellow and blue.  Many artists from Piet Mondrian to present have done paintings with these colors as the subject matter.  Assigning red as the color for to stop signs is arbitrary in semiotic theory.  I decided to combine these ideas in this painting.

Now the hard part is to decide whether or not to paint this in other color motifs.  I could do one in green and blue to refer to the primary colors in light, or I could do one in magenta and yellow to combine and refer to red since those are the primary colors of process printing.  I have other paintings that I am working on now; I will have to put any multiples of this painting on hold and consider it in the future.

