Home > Product Reviews, Uncategorized > Product Review: Robert Simmons Titanium Brushes

Product Review: Robert Simmons Titanium Brushes

September 6, 2010

The Michael’s Arts & Crafts big box store has been the good hook-up for brushes for me lately.  The fine art stores charge a lot more for brushes; maybe they expect a bigger profit margin from these tools.  I do not like to order from catalogs becaus I want to feel the brushes I buy.  I will only catalog a brush I am already familiar with these days.

I reviewed and recommend the $2.99 Royal & Langnickel economy brushes here:

https://shellielewis.wordpress.com/2010/05/31/650498269/

So my broke @$$ shelled out a few extra pesos for a few Titanium brushes from a “Robert Simmons” brand.  The handles are good and really standard, from the end of the furrule they are about 9.25” [23.5 cm] long with an ergonomic flare just before the metal furrule begins.  The paint is a sleek, “brushed” looking silver color with a smooth texture that washes off well; these brushes are pretty in the handle aspect.  Here are my impressions of this brush line:

  • They are reasonably priced from $5 – $12 for most brushes.
  • Precise tips: rounds come to a fine point, brights and filberts come to a sharp edge – these have good precision and retain their shape well.
  • Minimal stria from these brushes: the tend for smoother brush strokes.  There is some stria in acrylic and less  for oil paints, the stria is minimal compared to boar bristles brushes and tend toward smoothness.
  • The bristles are very strong and seem to resist frizz well; I only have a month’s use in on the brushes I bought, but I find they retain their shape very well.
  • The bristles wash out and clean up well for both oils paints and acrylics.

I would still recommend a synthetic brush like this over a natural hair brush that is more fragile and costs a lot more:

https://shellielewis.wordpress.com/2010/07/27/869305100/

So vote for the synthetic and leave Mister Weasel alone.  I would say that these are  a notch above the last the Royal & Langnickel brushes I reviewed whose strongest selling point was their excellent price and were overall practical brushes; the Robert Simmons Titanium are in a higher price point and have their strength in sturdy, precise bristles.  I would definitely pick more of these up.

