Home > Shellie Lewis' Art, Uncategorized > Pop Art Self-Portait

Pop Art Self-Portait

July 8, 2010


 

“I Went to College, My Brother Went to Jail” – by Shellie Lewis

Acrylics, metallic acrylics and gloss medium on canvas, 24” x 30”

I would almost rather chew lead than paint a self-portrait, but I wanted to do my graduation photo to add to the autobiographical section of my Pop Art series.  Along with X-Ray this painting is emblematic of a longer narrative. There are a lot of tonal variation in color and reflectivity which are only fully visible in person, although a portion of the glossy elements are evident in the digital photograph; these features are intentionally keying into my use of materials that are apparent in person but change in appearance or are only visible in person as an intentional expression of phenomenology in art.

