Home > Artist Tips > Artist Tip: Fixing a Dent on a Canvas

Artist Tip: Fixing a Dent on a Canvas

I figured out an easy way to fix a dented canvas.  A box corner had pushed into the surface of the canvas when I leaned it against a wall.  This is a  commercially made and primed canvas.  I really did not want to try and pull some staples and re-stretch the canvas because I had already painted three layers of gold for the background.

I used a palette knife and acrylic gel medium to spackle the indentation.  I let it dry flat to be sure the area I filled would stay level.  I let the gel medium dry and painted over the damaged area.  This has worked really well.  I think it would work well also for any dents in a new canvas you want to repair and have not yet painted on.

Categories: Artist Tips
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

