Home > Chicago, Photography, Uncategorized > Amazing Storm Photography

Amazing Storm Photography

A windstorm blew through Evanston, Illinois near Lake Michigan and I was there with a camera.  If I had a brain, I would have taken shelter.  This storm whipped up to gale force in minutes and the sky was constantly shifting.  Unfortunately, instead of a brain, I had my HBBF’s high end DSLR camera.  I was shooting stills and video for the Women to Go activism event on July 1, 2012 so it was a rare time that I had borrowed his camera.  I would say these shots were taken in a fifteen to twenty minute span.  The clouds look like they are trying to make fractals.  This was worth the risk, right?

  1. July 5, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    Maximum respect for clouds! What is the risk in being awesome with a cloud?

    • July 6, 2012 at 9:38 am

      My risk was staring at the sky trying to frame shots while patio furniture from the restaurants on the street was being blown away in 45 – 60 mph winds. I would have quit it with rain or lightening and gone indoors. The wind also blasted small rocks and debris that hit pretty painfully. I’m lucky I didn’t break my glasses. 6_9 It was tornado weather. People often do not believe tornadoes hit Chicago; they do and are mapped by the National Weather Service and NOAA.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

